Career subjects of the KIT

The Career Path was developed in a participatory process involving scientists and researchers. It sharpens and defines the career paths and target positions that enable permanent employment at KIT for young scientists.

Please note that the career path and the positions and transitions contained therein represent the current state of deliberations and that not all procedures regarding the individual positions and transitions are currently regulated.


 


Figure: Career subjects at KIT with a focus on Multi Track

After a successful doctorate, further career planning takes place within the first three years as part of the annual review for employees in the postdoc phase. At KIT, two career goals can be pursued:

  • a W3 professorship (intermediate positions externally usually required)
  • a permanent position as Recognised Scientist, Established Scient ist, or Distinguished Scientist (all positions are associated with permanent tasks in research, teaching, and/or innovation; the aim of the Established and Distinguished Scientist is to recognize the scientific achievements of excellent, internationally visible scientists; the procedures for appointment are currently not yet regulated and can therefore not yet be initiated)

Career goals are achieved in different ways within KIT:

  • Through Multi Track, the following are obtained
    • tenure-track professors (who may also be externally funded junior research group leaders) early commitment for a W3 professorship at KIT or
    • selected other junior research group leaders an early commitment for a permanent position as Recognised Scientist or Established Scientist (this commitment is currently not yet regulated and can therefore not be officially initiated).

Both commitments are subject to a positive evaluation.

  • Independently of Multi Track, scientific employees can be taken on indefinitely through the EVA procedure.

Junior scientists with doctorates and outstanding achievements as target group for Multi Track

The entry requirement is success in one of the following positions:

  • Successful application for a tenure-track professorship: The design of tenure-track professorships is bindingly regulated in the KIT quality assurance concept .
  • Acquisition of an externally evaluated junior research group leadership, e.g., Emmy Noether program, ERC Starting Grant, Sofja Kovalevskaja Award, Helmholtz junior research group, BMBF junior research group: Most of these externally evaluated and financed junior research group leaderships currently involve temporary employment. Here, a permanent position can be agreed upon at an early stage through Multi Track after successful evaluation. In addition, these individuals can increasingly be offered a tenure-track professorship based on the quality assurance concept. Since some of the external funding only provides for a duration of five years, the sixth year must be financed by the institute in these cases.
  • Junior research groups recognized in a standardized procedure at KIT: Junior research group leaders recognized according to KIT regulations may also receive a multi-track commitment for an unlimited appointment.

In addition to the possibilities presented here for pursuing a plannable scientific career at KIT, there are junior professorships and junior research group leaders without tenure or multi-track as well as temporary habilitation positions. These have the goal of a professorship or other activity outside KIT. Thus, KIT fulfills its task of qualifying outstanding scientists not only for its own institution but also for other universities and other research institutions.

Personalentwicklung und Berufliche Ausbildung

Karrierefächer des KIT

Der Karrierefächer wurde in einem partizipativen Prozess unter Einbezug von Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen entwickelt. Er schärft und definiert die Karrierewege und Zielpositionen, die für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs eine unbefristete Beschäftigung am KIT ermöglichen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Karrierefächer und die darin enthaltenen Positionen und Übergänge den aktuellen Stand der Überlegungen darstellen und derzeit noch nicht alle Verfahren zu den einzelnen Positionen und Übergängen geregelt sind.

 

 

Abbildung: Karrierefächer am KIT mit dem Schwerpunkt Multi Track

Nach erfolgreicher Promotion erfolgt im Rahmen der Mitarbeiterjahresgespräche in der Postdoc-Phase innerhalb der ersten drei Jahre die weitere Karriereplanung. Am KIT können zwei Karriereziele angestrebt werden:

  • eine W3-Professur (Zwischenstationen extern i.d.R. erforderlich)
  • eine unbefristete Position als Recognised Scientist, Established Scientist oder Distinguished Scientist (alle Positionen sind mit Daueraufgaben in Forschung, Lehre und/oder Innovation verbunden; Ziel des Established und Distinguished Scientists ist es, bei exzellenten, international sichtbaren Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen ihre wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zu würdigen; die Verfahren zur Ernennung sind derzeit noch nicht geregelt und können daher noch nicht eingeleitet werden)

Die Karriereziele werden innerhalb des KIT auf unterschiedlichen Wegen erreicht:

  • Durch Multi Track erhalten
    • Tenure-Track-Professor/innen (welche auch extern finanzierte Nachwuchs-gruppenleitungen sein können) frühzeitig eine Zusage für eine W3-Professur am KIT oder
    • ausgewählte sonstige Nachwuchsgruppenleitungen frühzeitig eine Zusage für eine Dauerstelle als Recognised Scientist oder Established-Scientist (diese Zusage ist aktuell noch nicht geregelt und kann daher nicht offiziell eingeleitet werden)

Beide Zusagen gelten jeweils vorbehaltlich einer positiven Evaluation.

  • Unabhängig von Multi Track können durch das EVA-Verfahren wissenschaftliche Beschäftigte unbefristet übernommen werden.

Promovierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler und Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen mit herausragenden Leistungen als Zielgruppe für Multi Track

Eingangsvoraussetzung ist der Erfolg bei einer der folgenden Positionen:

  • Erfolgreiche Bewerbung auf eine Tenure-Track-Professur: Die Ausgestaltung der Tenure-Track-Professuren ist im Qualitätssicherungskonzept des KIT verbindlich geregelt.
  • Einwerbung einer extern evaluierten Nachwuchsgruppenleitung, z.B. Emmy Noether-Programm, ERC Starting Grant, Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis, Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe, BMBF-Nachwuchsgruppe: Die meisten dieser extern evaluierten und finanzierten Nachwuchsgruppen-leitungen beinhalten derzeit befristete Beschäftigungen. Hier kann durch Multi Track frühzeitig eine Dauerbeschäftigung nach erfolgreicher Evaluation vereinbart werden. Zudem kann diesen Personen auf Basis des Qualitätssicherungskonzepts vermehrt eine Tenure-Track-Professur angeboten werden. Da einige der externen Finanzierungen nur eine Dauer von fünf Jahren vorsehen, muss in diesen Fällen das sechste Jahr durch das Institut finanziert werden.
  • In einem standardisierten Verfahren am KIT anerkannte Nachwuchsgruppen: Die nach den Regularien des KIT anerkannten Nachwuchsgruppenleitungen können ebenfalls eine Multi Track-Zusage für eine unbefristete Einstellung erhalten.

Neben den hier dargestellten Möglichkeiten zur Verfolgung einer planbaren wissenschaftlichen Karriere am KIT gibt es Juniorprofessuren und Nachwuchsgruppenleitungen ohne Tenure oder Multi Track sowie befristete Habilitationsstellen. Diese haben das Ziel einer Professur oder anderen Tätigkeit außerhalb des KIT. Damit wird das KIT seiner Aufgabe gerecht, nicht nur für die eigene Institution herausragende Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, sondern auch für andere Hochschulen sowie weitere Forschungsinstitutionen zu qualifizieren.